Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join AIA
AEF of AIA Wyoming
Share |

Architectural Education Foundation of AIA Wyoming

In 1997 AIA Wyoming established the Architectural Education Foundation of AIA Wyoming (AEF-AIAWy) to assist Wyoming students obtain an architectural education at accredited schools of architecture. There are no accredited schools of architecture in Wyoming. That makes the financial commitment for Wyoming architecture students even more challenging.

The original funds for the scholarship were a gift of $3,000 from the Colorado Producers Council to AIA Wyoming in the late 1980’s. During the 1990’s, AIA Wyoming started distributing a portion of excess funds from the previous year’s budget to the AEF-AIAWy scholarship fund. Those gifts continue still. In the past ten years, the AEF-AIAWy has asked AIA Wyoming member firms to make a yearly donation pledge. Reminders of those pledges are sent to each firm in November or December of each year. AEF-AIAWy also solicits gifts from allied professionals, Wyoming philanthropic organizations and individuals, and holds periodic fund raising events. The AEF-AIAWy has been able to grow the corpus of the scholarship funds to a level where we can sustain the scholarship awards from yearly earnings.

The Architectural Education Foundation of AIA Wyoming is a 501(c)(3) non- profit corporation registered in the State of Wyoming. Yearly reports are filed with the Wyoming Secretary of State.

The AEF-AIAWy is administered by the Board of Directors selected from the membership of AIA Wyoming.

Multiple scholarships are awarded each year to deserving Wyoming residents or Wyoming high school graduates. To be eligible, students must have completed three or more semesters in a program leading to an accredited degree in Architecture or have graduated or will graduate with an Architectural Engineering degree from the University of Wyoming, and have been accepted by an accredited school of architecture.

Scholarships are awarded based on overall need, ability, desire, determination and potential for successfully completing their architectural education and entering architecture as a profession. Applicants are required to submit a resume, transcript, samples of work, and a letter of recommendation from a faculty member.

The AEF-AIAWy scholarship program is announced each year with a press release, notices to all Wyoming High School’s, as well as through the cooperative announcements by the American Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA), and the American Institute of Architecture Students (AIAS).

The scholarships awards are announced on the AIA Wyoming website, and in press releases sent to the public affairs office of the student’s university and their home town. When possible, scholarship recipients are invited to an AIA Wyoming event so that they award may be presented in person by representatives of AIA Wyoming and the AEF-AIAWy. AEF-AIAWy endeavourers to remain in contact with scholarship recipients as they enter the profession and begin their careers.

AEF-AIAWy provides a report to AIA Wyoming membership at each of the Chapter Meetings, and to the AIA National Component each year in November, regarding the past years scholarship recipients and the current year’s program.

AEF-AIAWy Scholarship Recipients

2010 Recipients:

Jesse Biggs, Mountain View - University of Utah
Erica Brus, Cody - Virginia Polytechnic Institute
Kay Guidry, Cheyenne - Boston Architectural College (TDSi, Cheyenne - Associate AIA)
Britt Bandel-Jeske, Jackson - University of Washington
Jeselia Mendiolea, Green River - Pratt Institute
Leandra Merritt, Afton - University of Utah
Levi Van Buggenum, Story - University of Arizona
Carl Wedell, Cheyenne - University of Colorado

2010 Total Awards $18,000

2009 Recipients: 

Erica Brus, Cody - VirginiaTech
Kelly Buchanan, Cheyenne - University of Nevada
Carol Heffern, Cheyenne - University of Arizona Tucson
Jeselia Mendiolea, Green River - University of Utah 
LeAndra Merritt, Star Valley - University of Utah

2009 Total Awards $10,000

2008 Recipients: 

Britt Bandel, Jackson - University of Washington
Erica Brus, Cody - Virginia Tech 
Ian Daniels, Gillette - Tulane University
Chad Evans, Pavilion - Montana State University
Carol Heffern, Cheyenne - University of Arizona Tucson 
Megin Rux, Laramie - University of Kansas
Sara Staffanson, Star Valley - University of Utah
2008 Total Awards $12,500

2007 Recipients: 

Carol Heffern, Cheyenne - University of Arizona Tucson
Kyler Hokanson, Afton - University of Utah
Erica Brus, Cody - Virginia Tech
2007 Total Awards $8,000

2006 Recipients: 

Joshua Cabot, Cheyenne - Syracuse University
Dawn Carlton, Cheyenne -  Montana State University
Carrissa Christensen, Casper - Illinois Institute of Technology
Brandon Daigle, Casper - University of Colorado (Studio D2, Casper - Associate AIA)
Carol Heffern, Cheyenne - University of Arizona Tucson
Brandon Van Tassell, Laramie - University of Idaho (Tobin & Associates, Cheyenne - Associate AIA)

2006Total Awards $13,000

2005 Recipients: 

Jesse Vigil, Laramie - Montana State University
2005 Total Awards $2,000

2004 Recipients:

Jessica Jellison, Banner - Montana State University (Jessica Jellison Design Group Inc, Bozeman, Montana - AIA)
Nicole Olovich, Sheridan - Montana State University (RB+B Architects, Fort Collins, Colorado)
Veronica Schreibeis, Laramie - Montana State University
Russell Schutte, Sheridan - Montana State University
2004 Total Awards $4,000

2003 Recipients: 

Steven Harrop - Montana State University
Laura Ridgeway - Montana State University
2003 Total Awards $3,000

2002 Recipients:

Jon Gardselewski, Laramie - University of Wyoming (University of Wyoming, Laramie - Associate AIA)

2002 Total Awards $2,000

2001 Recipients: 

Phillip Haderlie, Casper - University of Utah (VCBO - Salt Lake City, Utah - AIA)

2001 Total Awards $2,000


Membership Management Software Powered by®  ::  Legal